Twenty-Two Students Named 2020 National Merit Semifinalists

Twenty-two students from High Technology High School have been named semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation for 2020. All semifinalists are eligible to compete for 7,600 National Merit Scholarship awards worth more than $31 million, to be awarded in spring 2020.

HTHS 2020 National Merit semifinalists are: 

Kevin Chen Karen Li
Justin Diament Katherine Liu
Chukwuemekalum Echezona Arjun Menon
Katrina Florendo Ravi Raghavan
Gustav Hansen Abhijat Sarma
Aruj Jain Akhil Thalasila
Sana Jain Lawrence Wang
Emily Jiang Jason Yan
Addison Kalanther Brianna Yao
Amiya Kumar Adrienne Yu
Aparna Kumar Sophie Zhang

Approximately 16,000 high school seniors were named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists for 2020. More than 1.5 million juniors entered the 2020 National Merit program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which serves as the initial screen of program entrants.  

The nationwide pool of semifinalists, which represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.These determinations are made by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, not FCPS or individual schools.

Three types of Merit Scholarship awards will be offered in 2020:  National Merit $2,500 scholarships, corporate-sponsored scholarships, and college-sponsored scholarships.

Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in spring 2020.